Press Enquiries

For urgent enquiries out of office hours, please use the mobile phone numbers below:


Bill Hamilton
Head of Stakeholder
Office: 01925 802193
Mobile: 07816 315132

Deborah Ward
Corporate Communications
Office: 01925 832280
Mobile: 07980 930838  

Radioactive Waste Management Limited - Geological Disposal

Sarah Read
Senior Manager
Office: 01925 802844
Mobile: 07860 780 041  

Richard Flynn
Communications Manager
Office: 01925 802838
Mobile: 07568 116416


Matt Legg
Communications Manager - Cumbria
Office: 01925 802066
Mobile: 07872 101144


Anna MacConnell
Stakeholder Relations
Manager - Caithness
Office: 01847 806340
Mobile: 07889 117204  

Other Sites

Jonathan Jenkin
Stakeholder Relations
Manager - Magnox
Office: 01925 832725
Mobile: 07970 746313

Web Updates

Keep informed with the latest news and developments from the NDA

See also

Our People

Web Updates

Keep informed with the latest news and developments from the NDA

Home > News and Events > New Non-Executive Director for the NDA  

New Non-Executive Director for the NDA

06 March 2013

The Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change Edward Davey has appointed a new Non-Executive Director to the NDA's Board following Alistair Wivell's completion of his four-year term in office. 

Tom Smith is a former diplomat and senior executive with many years experience of working on major infrastructure projects. 

NDA Chairman Stephen Henwood said: "I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks to Alistair who is standing down after making an extremely valuable contribution to the organisation. I wish him all the best for the future. 

"This is an important time for our organisation as we increase our focus on delivery and performance. The new non-executive director will bring a range of skills and experience which will be particularly valuable to the NDA. It is a testament to the progress we are making that we are able to attract high-quality candidates who want to contribute to our mission." 

Mr Smith, who has extensive experience of the interface between Government and the business community, is currently Chair of the Association of Train Operating Companies and a former Managing Director of Midland Expressway Ltd, where he oversaw development of the UK's first, and only, private toll motorway. An Oxford chemistry graduate, Mr Smith started his career in the diplomatic service, specialising in China and European affairs, before moving to major infrastructure projects. 

Meanwhile, Janette Brown and Patrick Dixon, who were appointed in 2009, will serve further three-year terms.